Advancing excellence through faculty diversity

The University of California President’s Postdoctoral Fellowship Program was established in 1984 to encourage outstanding women and minority Ph.D. recipients to pursue academic careers at the University of California. The current program offers postdoctoral research fellowships, professional development and faculty mentoring to outstanding scholars in all fields whose research, teaching, and service will contribute to diversity and equal opportunity at UC.

Resources for:


2020-21 President’s Postdoctoral Fellowship awards

The President’s Postdoctoral Fellowship Program is pleased to announce the 2020-21 President’s Postdoctoral Fellowship awards. These fellows provide an outstanding pool of potential new faculty members in a wide range of disciplines. Learn more about the 2020-21 PRESIDENT’S POSTDOCTORAL FELLOWS >>

UC President’s Initiative

University of California President Janet Napolitano committed $5 million to support new hiring incentives and professional development programs. Learn more about HIRING INCENTIVES >>

The Partnership for Faculty Diversity

In 2011, the University of California and the University of Michigan created the Partnership for Faculty Diversity to support new scholars. Learn more about the PARTNERSHIP >>

PPFP 30th Anniversary Celebration

In October 2014, PPFP celebrated its 30th Anniversary with a two-day professional development conference for all former UC President’s and Chancellor’s fellows and UC faculty mentors who have supported the programs.  Learn more about the 30TH ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION >>

Fellows in the News

Ayana Flewellen and Justin Dunnavant

Ayana Flewellen and Justin Dunnavant featured in SCIENCE and National Geographic

Science Magazine features the research of Dr. Ayana Flewellen and Dr. Justin Dunnavant for their work on preserving the lived experiences of enslaved Africans on Estate Little Princess in St. Croix.  Read more about Dr. Ayana Flewellen and Dr. Justin Dunnavant research >